Chambers Diversity & Inclusion Awards: Asia - Pacific 2020


Media Defence 2019 logo

We are sorry to inform you that due to Coronavirus associated travel restrictions, we have had to cancel the event in its current format.

However, as the event was set to be a fantastic evening of celebration, we would still like to recognise the firms and individuals that lead the way in D&I and pro bono. We will therefore be announcing the awards online on our Twitter account @ChamDiversity using #ChambersDIAwards2020. This will take place at 14:00 IST | 16:30 HK | 19:30 SYD | 08:30 GMT.

During this online event, we will highlight the shortlists and the winners for each category. On the same day, we will launch our ‘Chambers Diversity & Inclusion Briefing: Asia Pacific Diversity, Inclusion and Pro Bono Trends in the Legal Profession 2020’ report highlighting case studies from leading firms and organisations. You can download the report here.

The Chambers Diversity & Inclusion Awards celebrate in-house legal teams and law firms who are furthering the advancement of diversity and inclusion. With clients increasingly demanding to see improvements in inclusion from their law firms, the awards provide an opportunity for both general counsel and law firms to demonstrate the key work and success they are bringing to shifting the inclusion dial. The awards also provide the opportunity to shine the spotlight on role models and trailblazers in pro bono and corporate social responsibility as well as inclusion.

Chambers D&I Asia-Pacific Awards – Winners 2020

Congratulation to our winners. You can find the full list here

Award Categories & Shortlists 2020

In-House (Individual)

Future Leader – Gender Diversity 
Eunice Lim, Legal Counsel, Diageo (Singapore)
Lena Chapple, Legal Counsel, Thales (Australia)

LGBT+ Lawyer of the Year 
Marc Rubinstein, Managing Director and General Counsel, Asia Pacific Land (Hong Kong)
Matthew Flood, Group General Counsel, APM (Advanced Personnel Management) (Australia)
Mike Kung, Senior Counsel, Goldman Sachs (Hong Kong)

Gender Diversity Lawyer of the Year 
Ayako Shotoku, Managing Executive Officer, Panasonic (Japan)
Felicia Law, Executive Director & In-House Counsel, JP Morgan (Hong Kong)
Jagriti Bhattacharyya, Chief Counsel for South Asia, Refinitiv (India)
Priya Sreenivasa, Head Legal, National Skill Development Corporation (India)
Putu Dewika Angganingrum, Group Head of Legal and Compliance Dept, PT Danareksa (Persero) (Indonesia)

Outstanding Ally 
Brian Sun, CRO and General Counsel, S.F Holding Co., Lt (Hong Kong)
Rajeev Kumar, Senior Vice President – Legal, HDFC Property Ventures Limited (India)
Steven Yeo, General Counsel Asia, Manulife (Hong Kong)
Wanda Tung, Managing Director and General Counsel, Nomura International (Hong Kong)

Special Award for Advancing Disability Inclusion

This award is for an organisation that has shown dedication and commitment to furthering the advancement of lawyers with disabilities in the workplace.

Announced at the awards ceremony 

In-House Legal Teams (Company)

Outstanding Employee Wellbeing Programme
Morgan Stanley (Hong Kong)
Sony Pictures Networks Pvt. Ltd. (India) 

Outstanding Company for D&I
China Beststudy Education Group (China)
Diageo (Singapore)
Goldman Sachs (Hong Kong)
IBM (India)
KPMG (Hong Kong)
S.F Holding Co., Ltd (Hong Kong)
Sony Pictures Networks India Pvt. Ltd. (India)
Tata Consultancy Services (India) 

Private Practice (Individual)

Outstanding Ally
Allan Wardrop, Partner, Sidley Austin LLP (Hong Kong)
Essenese Obhan, Managing Partner, Obhan & Associates (India)
Geraint Hughes, Regional Managing Partner, Asia-Pacific, Clifford Chance (Hong Kong)
Sameer Khosa, Partner, Axis Law Chambers (Pakistan)
Stewart Chippindale, Director of Legal Operations, Linklaters (Hong Kong)
Takeshi Nemoto, Partner, Nishimura & Asahi (Japan)
Toru Ishiguro, Partner, Mori Hamada & Matsumoto (Japan) 

Generational Inclusion Lawyer of the Year
Ahmad Fikri Assegaf, Co-Founder/Partner, Assegaf Hamzah & Partners (Indonesia)
Ashima Obhan, Senior Partner, Obhan & Associates (India)
Takahiko Date, Partner, Nishimura & Asahi (Japan) 

Cultural Inclusivity Lawyer of the Year
Bimal Desai, Partner, Allen & Overy (Singapore)
Bono Daru Adji, Managing Partner, Assegaf Hamzah & Partners (Indonesia)
Hikaru Oguchi, Partner, Nishimura & Asahi (Japan) 

Future Leader: LGBT+ Lawyer
Ilan Wong, Associate, Ropes & Gray (Hong Kong)
Jenny Chan, Associate, Sidley Austin (Hong Kong)
Maria Farooq, Senior Associate, Axis Law Chambers (Pakistan)
Nathan Eastwood, Senior Associate, Clifford Chance (Australia)
Natsuki Hosoya, Associate, Nishimura & Asahi (Japan) 

Future Leader: Gender Diversity
Brigid Clark, Senior Associate, Maddocks (Australia) 
Lucy Wu, Associate, Ropes & Gray (Hong Kong) 
Maureen Ho, Of Counsel, Morrison & Foerster LLP (Hong Kong)
Tracy Tania, Senior AssociateAssegaf Hamzah & Partners (Indonesia) 

Gender Diversity Lawyer of the Year
Charandeep Kaur, Partner, Trilegal (India)
Diana Chang, Senior Consultant
Fiona Cumming, Partner, Allen & Overy (Hong Kong)
Indira Yustikania, Partner, Assegaf Hamzah & Partners (Indonesia)
Melinda Upton, Partner, DLA Piper (Australia)
Pooja Sinha, Partner, GLS Law Firm Pte Ltd (Singapore)
Rachel Eng, Managing Director, Eng & Co LLC (Singapore) – affiliated with PwC
Sophie Mathur, Partner, Linklaters (Singapore) 

Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year
Alfred Ip, Partner, Hugill & Ip (Hong Kong)
Annette Bain, Pro Bono Counsel, DLA Piper (Hong Kong)
Asep Ridwan, Partner, Assegaf Hamzah & Partners (Indonesia)
Brooke Massender, Head of Pro Bono, Herbert Smith Freehills (Australia)
Catherine Husted, Head of Pro Bono & Community Investment, Allen & Overy (Hong Kong)
Hong Tran, Partner, Mayer Brown (Hong Kong)
Kosturi Ghosh, Partner, Trilegal (India)

LGBT+ Lawyer of the Year
Alfred Ip, Partner, Hugill & Ip (Hong Kong)
Ayako Kawano, Partner, White & Case (Japan)
Daniel Levison, Partner, Morrison & Foerster (Singapore)
Jonathon Ellis, Special Counsel, DLA Piper (Australia)
Matt Bower, Partner, Allen & Overy (Hong Kong)
Yasuzo Takeno, Partner, Mori Hamada & Matsumoto (Japan)
Yuri Sugano, Partner, Nishimura & Asahi (Japan) 

Social Mobility Lawyer of the Year
Stacey Shortall, Partner, Minter Ellison Rudd Watts (New Zealand)
Syed Shahab Qutub, Partner, Axis Law Chambers (Pakistan)
Zia Mody, Founder and Managing Partner, AZB & Partners (India) 

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is for a partner that has shown an outstanding commitment to diversity and inclusion in the legal profession.

Announced at the awards ceremony 

Private Practice (Firms)

Outstanding Pro Bono Programme – Regional
Assegaf Hamzah & Partners (Indonesia)
Axis Law Chambers (Pakistan)
Hugill & Ip (Hong Kong)
Mori Hamada & Matsumoto (Japan)
Nishimura & Asahi (Japan)
Samvād Partners (India)
Tilleke & Gibbins (Thailand)
Trilegal (India) 

Outstanding Pro Bono Programme – International
Allen & Overy
Herbert Smith Freehills
Mayer Brown 

Outstanding Employee Wellbeing Programme
Assegaf Hamzah & Partners (Indonesia)
Axis Law Chambers (Pakistan)
Herbert Smith Freehills 

Outstanding Firm for D&I – Regional
Burns IP (Australia)
Nishimura & Asahi (Japan)
Obhan & Associates (India)
Tilleke & Gibbins (Thailand)
Wong Partnership (Singapore) 

Outstanding Firm for D&I – International
Allen & Overy
Clifford Chance
Herbert Smith Freehills
Mayer Brown
Minter Ellison